Day 21….Ina Garten Barefoot Contessa Family Style

I have been saying for years now that when I grow up I want to be Ina Garten.  She has a beautiful home in the Hamptons and has an endless supply of dinner guests showing up at her house.  I love her show on the Food Network.  I aspire to have a kitchen like hers some day…..yeah, it is probably a set kitchen, but a girl can dream can’t she?  Most of the recipes that she makes are fairly straightforward and call for fresh ingredients.  One of her favorite tricks is to use truffle butter.  I have yet to find it at our local grocery store.

Since I have started this cooking journey with the cook books my middle son has been asking me to make Chicken Parmesan.  He loves it and he seriously asks for it at least 3 times a week.  But I hate to pound the chicken as chicken parts and me do not get along.  I just want to touch it with a fork and call it good.  Any sort of touching with my fingers grosses me out.  Well it must have been a sign from God that Ina had a chicken parmesan in her cookbook and I found at our local big box store thin cut chicken breasts!  Yippe!  I didn’t have to touch them!

The recipe is your basic Chicken Parmesan.  Ina suggests serving it on top of lettuce with a squeeze of lemon.  My kids are them hot right out of the pan.  My youngest ate one breaded, and then wanted one without breading…..you will see his naked chicken in the pictures below.  My middle son wanted me to cook it with marinara sauce and topped with mozzarella cheese like I normally do.  Too bad, so he poured some jarred sauce on top of it and made the most out of it.  Good recipe to keep  on hand if you don’t already have a chicken parmesan recipe.  My tip is to cook it on medium, even if you want it to cook faster.  I also like to keep mine in the oven on a cookie sheet warming up until they are all done.  This way they can cook a little longer if needed without becoming burned.

Parmesan Chicken, page 82

Ingredients:

  • 6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 extra large eggs
  • 1 1/4 cups seasoned dry bread crumbs
  • 1/2 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese, plus extra for serving
  • unsalted butter
  • Good olive oil
  • salad greens for 6, washed and spun dry
  • lemon vinaigrette

Directions:

  1. Pound the chicken breasts until they are 1/4 inch thick.  You can use either a meat mallet or a rolling pin.
  2. Combine the flour, salt, and pepper on a dinner plate.  On a second plate, beat the eggs with 1 tablespoon of water.  On a third plate, combine the bread crumbs and 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese.  Coat the chicken breasts on both sides with the flour mixture, then dip both sides into the egg mixture and dredge both sides in the bread-crumb mixture, pressing lightly.
  3. Heat 1 tablespoon of butter and 1 tablespoon of olive oil in a large saute pan and cook 2 or 3 chicken breasts on medium-low heat for 2 to 3 minutes on each side, until cooked through.  Add more butter and oil and cook the rest of the chicken breasts.  Toss the salad greens with lemon vinaigrette.  Place a mound of salad on each hot chicken breast.  Serve with extra grated Parmesan.
  4. Keep the chicken breasts warm for about 15 minutes on a sheet pan in a 200 degree oven.

To Joyful, Simplified Living,

MS. Simplicity

2 Comments

Filed under Main Dishes

2 responses to “Day 21….Ina Garten Barefoot Contessa Family Style

  1. Pingback: Week In Review: January 22, 2011 « MS. Simplicity

  2. Pingback: Week In Review: January 22, 2011 | 365clevercookbooks

Leave a Reply

