Buffalo Chicken Lasagna

Day 37, “Make it Fast, Cook it Slow

February 6, 2011

Can you say it with me…..Buffalo……Chicken…..Lasagna.  Wow!  Whoever thought of this was a genius.  It is like the best part of buffalo chicken wings and add some cheese and some sauce.  The author of this cookbook started like me as a blogger.  She decided to prepare and blog about a different recipe everyday that she made in her slow cooker.  She now has a huge following and has been on GMA and Rachel Ray.  You can find her blog here if you want to check it out.  What is great about her recipes is that she is cooking for a real family like I am.  She is a mom and she has some kids that are picky (like mine).  She also has at the end of many of her recipes “the verdict”, telling you what worked and what didn’t work.  Just like a good friend would do.

I think I have 5 more recipes flagged in her cookbook that I would like to make.  I tried Creme Brulee in the slow cooker, can we just say it was an epic failure and call it a day?  You should find a container that will fit perfect in your slow cooker.  I thought I had found the perfect one, however I had too much water in my slow cooker.  I even took a bunch out.  There was even a turkey baster involved.  At one point the water started boiling and when I checked on my delicious creme brulee it was now covered in water.  GROSS!  I again took out the turkey baster and tried to get the water off of it.  GROSS!  I just called it a day and my son made another batch of creme brulee the old-fashioned way.  How cool is that?!  I have a son that can make creme brulee!

I digress, back to the Buffalo Chicken Lasagna.  It tasted good, but not over the top.  The flavor was good, however the noodle texture was just odd to me.  Man I am turning into one of my fussy kids!  I put the blue cheese on the top and it lost most of its flavor as it baked in the slow cooker, which is good because remember my husband does not like his cheese with mold on it.  He didn’t even know that it was a buffalo chicken lasagna until I told him, he just thought it was spicy.  But seriously, try it one time and let me know what you think.

Buffalo Chicken Lasagna, page 146

Ingredients:

  • 4 cooked boneless, skinless chicken breast halves, chopped
  • 1 (26- ounce) jar pasta sauce
  • 1 cup buffalo wing sauce
  • 8 to 10 uncooked traditional lasagna noodles
  • 1 (15-ounce) container ricotta cheese
  • 3 red, yellow, or orange bell peppers, chopped
  • 2 cups shredded cheese
  • 1/2 cup blue chesse crumbles
  • 1/4 cup water

Directions:

  1. Use 6 quart slow cooker.  In a mixing bowl, combine the chicken, pasta sauce, and buffalo wing sauce.  Ladle a big spoonful of the sauce into the bottom of your stoneware.  Cover with a layer of uncooked lasagna noodles.  You’ll have to break them to get a proper fit.  Add a smear of ricotta cheese to the top of the noodles.  Add a layer of bell pepper, and tope with some shredded cheese.  Repeat the layers until you run out of ingredients.  Add the blue cheese crumbles.  Put the water into your empty pasta sauce jar and shake.  Pour the liquid over the top of the entire lasagna.  Cover and cook on low for 6 to 7 hours, or on high for 4 to 5 hours.  When the cooking time is complete, unplug the corck and take off the lid.  Let the lasagna sit for 20 minutes before cutting.

To Joyful, Simplified Living,

MS. Simplicity

MS. Simplicity, also known as Melissa Schmalenberger  operates her business as I Did it with MS. Simplicity.  She is a Professional Organizer based out of Fargo, ND and her website can be found at www.ididit-fargo.com .  Need to contact MS. Simplicity privately, you can email her at melissa@ididit-fargo.com

2 Comments

Filed under Main Dishes, Pasta, Slow Cooker

2 responses to “Buffalo Chicken Lasagna

  1. Pingback: Week in Review: February 12, 2011 | 365clevercookbooks

  2. Pingback: Family Meals | MS. Simplicity

Leave a Reply

