Goat Cheese Salad

Day 45: “Live, Love and Eat: The Best of Wolfgang Puck

February 14, 2011

I am assuming that goat cheese has been around forever, but it only entered my life about two years ago.  But ever since then I see it everywhere.  I had a friend on facebook talk about a lovely goat cheese with berries on it.  I hunted it down and bought some of my own.  It is slightly flavored with vanilla with what appears to be crushed blueberries covering the outside of the goat cheese log.  The one problem that I have with goat cheese is that once I open it, it seems to spoil quickly.  I opened this goat cheese on Friday and soon began looking for recipes to completely use up the log.  I found a salad that fries the goat cheese and places that friend piece on top of a salad.

Wolfgang Puck was the first celebrity chef with his hip and trendy California recipe Spago.  I will say that this cookbook is filled with recipes that are fancy but really can be prepared by most home cooks.  I would like to try the “Crispy Shrimp with Chinese Noodles and Spicy Garlic Sauce” or his “Classic French Onion Soup”. 

The Ruling:  I really took liberties with this salad, sorry Wolfgang.  I really did not follow it too closely.  For example I used the lettuce that I had on hand.  My son wanted croutons on the salad so he made a batch of croutons to go on it.  I didn’t have tarragon so I just left it out.  And of course I did not have plain goat cheese, but I used my blueberry vanilla.  I had tomatoes, cucumbers and peppers that I added to the salad. I like the salad in its new found form.  I told my husband before he tried it that it reminded me of a toasted marshmallow.  Well I would have had better luck telling him the dog licked his plate.  He is not fond of goat cheese and he hates, I mean hates marshmallows.  There must be some repressed child hood memories with marshmallows that I am not aware of.  At this point he wouldn’t even try it…..his loss.

Goat Cheese Salad with Arugula and Radicchio, page 38

Ingredients:

Mustard Vinaigrette

  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 1 tablespoon finely chopped fresh tarragon
  • 1 tablespoon sherry wine vinegar or red wine vinegar
  • salt
  • freshly ground white pepper
  • 1 cup almond oil or extra-virgin olive oil (or a mixture of both)

Salad

  • 4 ounces fresh, creamy log-shaped goat cheese, cut into 4 equal slices
  • 1 garlic clove, peeled and crushed
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons fresh thyme leaves
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 small heads of radicchio
  • 2 bunches of arugula

Directions:

  1. To prepare the vinaigrette:  In a small bowl, stir together the mustard, tarragon, and vinegar.  Stir in the salt and pepper to taste.  Whisking continually, slowly pour in the oil.  Tate and adjust the seasonings, even adding a little more mustard or vinegar if you like.  Cover and set aside.
  2. In a bowl, put the cheese, garlic clove, and 1 teaspoon of the thyme leaves.  Add some black pepper to taste.  Pour the olive oil over the cheese, cover, and leave to marinate at room temperature for up to 1 hour.
  3. Before serving, separate the radicchio and arugula leaves, rinse them well with cold water, and dry them thoroughly in a salad spinner or with paper towels.  Put the leaves in a salad bowl and toss them with enough of the vinaigrette to coat them lightly.  Divide the greens among 4 large salad plates.
  4. Heat a nonstick saute pan until very hot and add 2 tablespoons of the olive oil in which the goat cheese has marinated.  Reduce the heat to medium, add the cheese slices, and saute them for 30 seconds per side, turning with a spatula.  Transfer a slice of warm cheese to the center of each salad, garnish the cheese with the remaining thyme leaves and a little more of the vinaigrette if you like, and serve immediately.

To Joyful, Simplified Living,

MS. Simplicity

MS. Simplicity, also known as Melissa Schmalenberger  operates her business as I Did it with MS. Simplicity.  She is a Professional Organizer based out of Fargo, ND and her website can be found at www.ididit-fargo.com .  Need to contact MS. Simplicity privately, you can email her at melissa@ididit-fargo.com.

1 Comment

Filed under Salads, Vegetarian

One response to “Goat Cheese Salad

  1. Pingback: Week In Review: February 19, 2011 | 365clevercookbooks

Leave a Reply

