Totelloni With Mushroom Sage Sauce

Day 46: “The Bon Appetit Cookbook

February 15, 2011

When I go through cookbooks I am always looking for fast family friendly meals that can be either ready in 30 minutes or require me to spend less than 15 minutes in the kitchen.  Having 3 kids keeps me on the go.  As the oldest one drives and the middle one is only a few months away from his license my need to drive them is less, but I am still as busy, go figure.  This meal takes little time to prepare but can impress the last-minute dinner guests. 

This is a cookbook that is packed with over 1,200 recipes in it.  It took me minutes to find what I wanted to make.  Looked easy and I figured at least two of the kids would eat it.  I love the “Bon Appetit” magazine but since I am on a magazine diet to help control clutter in the home, I do not subscribe to it.  My parents use to get the magazine and when I would visit I would droll over the pictures.  So this cookbook takes all those recipes and puts it in one hefty cookbook with limited pictures. 

The Ruling:  Everyone tried it.  Youngest son loves mushrooms and oldest hates them.  You see oldest son eats everything, and I mean everything, but mushrooms are his one food that he will not eat.  Something about when he was 2 and in the yard and eating mushrooms out of the grass and a frantic call to poison control and a dose of syrup of ipecac to make him vomit is a strong food memory for him.  So the standard line is the youngest child saying to his oldest brother, “I will take your mushrooms, just scrape all the other stuff off”.  Now if you remember, youngest son is very fussy, but he will eat a plate of mushrooms.  What the heck?  Middle son tried some and felt it was ok.  Husband and I thought it was really good.  Easy to make and a good dish to put in the company is coming repertoire.  I could not find shitake mushrooms so I just used baby portabellas that were already cut for me.  I could not find mushroom tortelloni in the store so I bought chicken ravioli instead.

Tortelloni with Mushroom-Sage Sauce, page 198

Ingredients:

  • 2 packages (about 9 ounces each) mushroom and cheese tortelloni
  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick butter)
  • 1/2 cup shallots
  • 12 ounces fresh shitake mushrooms, stemmed, caps thickly sliced
  • 1 1/2 cups dry vermouth or dry white wine
  • 3/4 cup whipping cream
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons chopped fresh sage

Directions:

  1. Cook pasts in pot of boiling salted water according to package directions; drain.
  2. Melt butter in heavy large skillet over medium-high heat.  Add shallots and saute 1 minutes.  Add mushrooms and saute until brown, about 7 minutes.  Add vermouth and cream.  Boil until sauce thickens and coats spoon, about 5 minutes.  Stir in sage.  Season sauce to taste with salt and pepper.  Add pasta; toss until heated through and coated with sauce.  Transfer to bowl and serve.

To Joyful, Simplified Living,

MS. Simplicity

MS. Simplicity, also known as Melissa Schmalenberger  operates her business as I Did it with MS. Simplicity.  She is a Professional Organizer based out of Fargo, ND and her website can be found at www.ididit-fargo.com .  Need to contact MS. Simplicity privately, you can email her at melissa@ididit-fargo.com.  For daily organizing tips find the MS. Simplicity fan page  here.

2 Comments

Filed under Main Dishes, Pasta

2 responses to “Totelloni With Mushroom Sage Sauce

  1. Pingback: Week In Review: February 19, 2011 | 365clevercookbooks

  2. Pingback: Family Meal Posts | MS. Simplicity

Leave a Reply

