Pasta all’Arrabbiata

Day 48: Pasta all’Arabbiata

February 17, 2011

I first tried pasta all’Arabbiata in Rome.  No lie!  It was like 22 years ago and before my husband and I were married and had kids.  When I say the name in my head I still say it with an Italian accent (not my accent mind you but some old Italian waiter).  My mouth still waters when I think about it.  Food holds memories for most of us, and for me this dish holds good memories.  I had never tried making it at home before so this was a good recipe to stumble along.

The cookbook is based on the segment on the “Saturday Early Show” on CBS where they give a chef a couple of dollars and tell him to go and make a meal for several people.  It is always fun to see what they come up with, kind of like a game show.  I think this would be a good party theme.  Host a party and tell each guest to bring an appetizer that cost under $5 to make.  Just think about it, we would have to be creative!  Sounds like I better call my friends and plan a party soon.

The Ruling:  Everyone who tried it really liked it.  My oldest told me to let me readers know that he would have appreciated some meat in the pasta.  His suggestion would be bacon.  Not a bad idea.  But the pasta dish in Italy had no meat in it.  I think that is why I ordered it was because it was the least inexpensive pasta dish on the menus.  They all like the spice.  I wish the youngest child would have tried it as he loves spicy food….he is the one who puts tabasco on corn chips as on after school snack.

Pasta all’Arabbiata, page 106 (hardcover edition)

Ingredients:

  • Coarse salt to taste
  • 3 quarts water
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes, or more to taste
  • 4 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
  • 2 tablespoons roughly chopped flat-leaf parsley leaves
  • 1 1/2 cups tomato sauce
  •  1 cup chicken stock, vegetable stock, or water
  • freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • 1 pound dried ziti

Directions:

  1. Salt the water and bring it to a boil in a large stockpot set over high heat.
  2. Meanwhile, heat the olive oil in a large saute pan over moderate heat.  Add the pepper flakes and garlic and cook 3 minutes, until the garlic begins to brown.  Add 1 tablespoon of the parsley and cook for 1 minute.  Add the tomato sauce and the chicken stock to the pan and season with salt and pepper.  Raise the heat, bring to a boil, than lower the heat and simmer for 8 to 10 minutes.
  3. Add the pasta to the boiling salted water and cook until al dente, 10 to 12 minutes.  Reserve 1/4 cup or so of the pasta’s cooking water, then drain the pasta and return it to the hot pot.  Pour the sauce over the pasta, raise the heat to medium-high, and toss to coat the pasta with the sauce.  Pour a few tablespoons of the cooking liquid into the pot and toss again. (The starchy water will help bind the sauce.) Season with the remaining 1 tablespoon parsley and cook, stirring, for 30 to 45 seconds.  Adjust the seasoning if necessary and serve immediately.

To Joyful, Simplified Living,

MS. Simplicity

MS. Simplicity, also known as Melissa Schmalenberger  operates her business as I Did it with MS. Simplicity.  She is a Professional Organizer based out of Fargo, ND and her website can be found at www.ididit-fargo.com .  Need to contact MS. Simplicity privately, you can email her at melissa@ididit-fargo.com.  For daily organizing tips find the MS. Simplicity fan page  here.

2 Comments

Filed under Main Dishes, Pasta

2 responses to “Pasta all’Arrabbiata

  1. Pingback: Week In Review: February 19, 2011 | 365clevercookbooks

  2. Pingback: Ronco Automatic Pasta Maker | DoughMaker Reviews

Leave a Reply

