Guacamole

Day 54: “All Around The World Cooking

February 23, 2011

Guacamole is one of those dishes that can be done very well, or very poorly.  Authentic Mexican restaurants generally create a great guacamole and I am not afraid to order it.  The chain Mexican restaurant usually serves a green creamy mixture where my guess there is not even a hint of avocado in their ingredient list.  So maybe I am a guacamole snob of sorts?  To me the best has very few onions in it, but a hint, some garlic and slightly chunky.  Tomatoes are a good addition but are not necessary for me to love the guacamole.

This cookbook is really a bible of cooking around the globe.  I was really stumped in finding something that I thought most in the family would eat.  So when I stumbled upon the guacamole I thought I had found the perfect dish to make.  This cookbook reminds of what Elizabeth Gilbert could have written if she had just focused on the “Eat” section of her widely popular book “Eat, Pray, Love”.  This cookbook is full of dishes from around the world.

The Ruling:  It was on a scale of 1-10 about a 7.  I felt it was lacking in garlic and it was too creamy for my liking.  We ate just a bit and put the rest in the fridge for another day.  When I pulled it out after a few days (we forgot about it in the fridge) my youngest son thought that it was chocolate pudding (it had a dark brown color to it).  Good thing I pulled it out before he ate it otherwise he would have been in for a bit of a surprise!

Guacamole, page 61

Ingredients:

  • 3 ripe avocados, preferably Haas, pitted and peeled
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 3 dashes Tabasco sauce
  • salt and coarsely ground black pepper, to taste
  • 3 ripe plum tomatoes, seeded and cut into 1/4 inch dice
  • 1/4 cup diced red onion
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro leaves or flat leaf parsley.

Directions:

  1. Place the avocado in a bowl, toss well with the lime juice, mash coarsely with a fork.
  2. Fold in the sour cream and season with the cumin, Tabasco and salt and pepper to taste.
  3. Stir in the tomatoes, red onion and cilantro.  Transfer to a festive bowl and serve.

To Joyful, Simplified Living,

 MS. Simplicity

MS. Simplicity, also known as Melissa Schmalenberger  operates her business as I Did it with MS. Simplicity.  She is a Professional Organizer based out of Fargo, ND and her website can be found at www.ididit-fargo.com .  Need to contact MS. Simplicity privately, you can email her at melissa@ididit-fargo.com.  For daily organizing tips find the MS. Simplicity fan page  here.

If you try any of my suggestions, I would love to hear from you.  It helps me to understand what my readers want me to write about and what they think is a waste of their time….thanks for taking the time to help me out.

4 Comments

Filed under Appetizers, Vegetarian

4 responses to “Guacamole

  1. Guacamole..i share your fear with ordering it, I prefer to make my own and try to avoid it in restaurants, of course with some exceptions:)

  2. Good…..so maybe we can stand together in our fear together!

  3. Pingback: Week in Review: February 26, 2011 | 365clevercookbooks

  4. Pingback: Family Meals | MS. Simplicity

Leave a Reply

