Honey-Lime Roast Pork

Day 58: “Celebrate

February 27, 2011

Pork is one of those meats that takes on any flavor that you put with it.  It is an easy meat to work with.  It doesn’t gross me out like chicken and hamburger does.  Not sure why, but I can usually even pick up a piece of pork with my hands.  My hands never touch raw chicken or raw hamburger.  Could it be that training that I received from my mother and from cooking shows where you are always warned against the bacteria and germs with chicken and hamburger?  Why did I not hear those same lessons for pork?  I have found that pork is one of those meats that often goes on sale.  It comes in so many forms that one type of cut is usually always on sale.  I usually try to find a cut of pork that does not have a lot of fat on it.  I would rather the fat be cut off so that I don’t have to try to trim it when I get home….one less step to do.

The cookbook where I found this recipe in takes special occasions and holidays and gives you a full menu for each occasion.  I found the pork recipe in the “Birthday Bash” section. Not only will you get the recipes for each occasion but your also get decorating ideas as well…..but not only that but also music selections……as well as the types of drinks to make.  If you are not a creative person and need your hand held, this is a great cookbook full of pictures and ideas that will make your head swim.  I you are a creative person, this will add to your creative juices that are already flowing in your veins.  Enjoy!

The Ruling:  We all ate it…..youngest child does it pork.  I do think that some barbecue sauce may have come out at some point.  My husband said it had a taste that he really could not put his finger on. I realized after I had started making this dish that it was supposed to marinate for at least 24 hours and it was supposed to be made in the oven.  I didn’t marinate it and I didn’t make it in the oven……I used the slow cooker.  Since I didn’t marinate it I felt an obligation to baste it several times while it was cooking.  I can only imagine the flavors if I had marinated it for the 24 hours.  If I was to make this again, I would marinate it but I still think I would use the slow cooker.  The recipe that is given is for the oven.  For the slow cooker, simply dump it in, turn it on low and let it cook for 8 hours.

Honey-Lime Roast Pork

Ingredients:

  • 1 boneless pork loin (about 3 1/2 pounds)
  • 1 large clove garlic, cut into thin slivers
  • 1/3 cup fresh lime juice (from about 3 limes)
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 2 tablespoons sherry vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Directions:

  1. Using the tip of a small sharp knife, make slits about 1/2 inch deep all over the pork loin.  Insert the garlic slivers into the slits. Place the pork in a shallow baking dish.
  2. Combine all the remaining ingredients in a bowl, mix well, and pour over the pork loin. Marinate, covered, in the refrigerator overnight, turning the pork twice.
  3. Remove the pork from the refrigerator 30 minutes before roasting. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. F.
  4. Rost the pork, basting it about every 15 minutes, until it is cooked through (150-160 degrees on a meat thermometer), about 1 hour and 10  minutes, or 20 minutes per pound.  Let the roast rest for 15 minutes, then slice and serve.

 

To Joyful, Simplified Living,

MS. Simplicity

MS. Simplicity, also known as Melissa Schmalenberger  operates her business as I Did it with MS. Simplicity.  She is a Professional Organizer based out of Fargo, ND and her website can be found at www.ididit-fargo.com .  Need to contact MS. Simplicity privately, you can email her at melissa@ididit-fargo.com.  For daily organizing tips find the MS. Simplicity fan page  here.

If you try any of my suggestions, I would love to hear from you.  It helps me to understand what my readers want me to write about and what they think is a waste of their time….thanks for taking the time to help me out.

2 Comments

Filed under Main Dishes, Slow Cooker, Sunday Suppers, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Honey-Lime Roast Pork

  1. Pingback: Week in Review: March 5, 2011 | 365clevercookbooks

  2. Pingback: Family Meals Week in Review | MS. Simplicity

Leave a Reply

