Nutella French Toast Panini

Day 77: “Panini Express: 70 Delicious recipes hot off the press

March 18, 2011

How many Panini’s can one family eat?  We are now eating them for breakfast!  I posted about throwing a Panini party here, so it looks like I better add another type of panini to our party recipe list.  Have you ever had Nutella?  I first had it when I traveled to Europe as a poor college student.  Now most grocery stores carry it and you can find it in the peanut butter section.  I have even seen a commercial where they are saying it is part of a balanced breakfast….this information is on the label as well.  “An example of a tasty yet balanced breakfast: a glass of skim milk, orange juice and Nutella on whole wheat bread.”  Really?!  Since I had 3 open containers of the stuff in my pantry someone must believe this to be true!  A serving size of the Nutella is 2 tablespoons and in that is 200 calories of which 100 are fat calories.  Not so sure of the health benefits.  But I will say that my kids like to dip pretzel sticks in the Nutella as an after school snack…..looks like I should make those whole wheat pretzels and have them drink a glass of milk and a glass of orange juice so that it is a balanced after school snack!

It seems that I am attracted to paninis lately. But I guess it is not only me, as I sent my husband to the library to pick out the cookbooks and in he came with the panini cookbook!  Panini fever is running through our family.  What is the cure I wonder?  More panini as that is what we had for lunch today…we are now in need of a panini intervention!  This cookbook has 70 panini recipes, but it doesn’t stop there….how about recipes for making your own bread….or how about different spreads to go in your panini.  This cookbook would make a great gift along with a panini press.

The Ruling: We had to double the recipe as the one listed only makes two of the french toast.  Personally if you are going through all that work, why would you only make two?  Crazy….they must not have teenage boys living in their house like we do!  Everyone ate them and enjoyed them. My husband spiced them up a bit by making homemade whip cream and slicing a banana on the top and a dusting of powdered sugar….man is he a good husband!  To me it felt like it was missing something….syrup to dunk it in maybe?  Surprisingly it wasn’t overly sweet like I had expected it to be.

Nutella French Toast, page 136

Ingredients:

  • Four 1 inch thick slices brioche
  • 1/4 cup Nutella
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup half-and-half or milk
  • 2 tablespoons confectioners’ sugar, plus more for dusting
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Heat a panini or sandwich press according to the manufacturer’s instructions
  2. Spread 2 pieces of bread with the Nutella. Top each piece with another piece of bread.
  3. Whisk together the eggs, half-and-half, confectioners’ sugar, and vanilla in a shallow bowl. Place one of the sandwiches in the bowl and then turn it to completely coat it with the egg mixture. Transfer to a platter. Let stand for a few seconds.
  4. Put the sandwiches on the press, pull the top down, and cook until they are golden and crisp, 4 to 6 minutes, depending on how hot your machine is. Carefully remove from the press, dust with confectioners’ sugar, and serve immediately.

To Joyful, Simplified Living,

MS. Simplicity

MS. Simplicity, also known as Melissa Schmalenberger  operates her business as I Did it with MS. Simplicity.  She is a Professional Organizer based out of Fargo, ND and her website can be found at www.ididit-fargo.com .  Need to contact MS. Simplicity privately, you can email her at melissa@ididit-fargo.com.  For daily organizing tips find the MS. Simplicity fan page  here.

If you try any of my suggestions, I would love to hear from you.  It helps me to understand what my readers want me to write about and what they think is a waste of their time….thanks for taking the time to help me out.

2 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Sweets

2 responses to “Nutella French Toast Panini

  1. Pingback: Family Meals | MS. Simplicity

  2. Pingback: Week in Review: March 12, 2011 | 365clevercookbooks

Leave a Reply

