Popovers

Day 76: “Great Food, All Day Long: Cook Splendidly, Eat Smart

March 17, 2011

How many of you own popover pans?  I do because of when I was pregnant with my oldest son, popovers were my food craving.  My husband was such a trooper making me popovers throughout that pregnancy.  When I was telling our kids the story about the popover craving my oldest wondered if that is why he likes popovers so much?  Well he likes everything, so that train of thought just does not make sense.  Popovers are not made that often in our home anymore, not sure why as we have the popover pan and everyone loves to eat them?  Maybe I should request them more often?  Maybe I should just eat a stick of melted butter as that is what tastes the best in a popover?  Okay, maybe not such a good idea, we will save these for special occasions or Sunday suppers when the whole family is home!

This cookbook is one with a picture of Maya Angelou on the cover.  It got me wondering why she would be on the cover of a cookbook and not one of her typical works of writing.  Well it seems like Maya has had a dramatic weight loss and she wanted to share that knowledge with others.  And in the lovely way that Ms. Angelou could say, “Remember, cooking a large amount of food does not mean that you are obliged to eat a large portions.”  Well said….or as I would say, don’t be a pig!  Another piece of fine advice is from the chapter that I used the popover recipe from ” ‘Stolen waters are sweet, and bread eaten in secret is pleasant.’ So we are told in the Book of Proverbs in the King James Version of the Holy Bible. I know that bread eaten in secret can be wonderful. But if you eat enough, it will be a secret no longer.” I love that!  Lovely cookbook, wise words and lovely pictures.

The Ruling:  Duh, who wouldn’t love a popover?  We all loved them.  Since my husband is the popover aficionado he made them.  He made a double batch and adjusted the cooking time on the second batch to 20 minutes at 425 degrees F. and then 20 minutes at 350 degrees F.

Popovers, page 119

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 tablespoons (1/4 stick) butter, melted
  • 1 cup sifted all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F. Grease six custard cups or an iron popover pan.
  2. Beat the eggs slightly in a large bowl.
  3. Add the milk and butter, then add the flour and salt. Beat vigorously for 2 minutes.
  4. Pour the batter into very hot custard cups or iron popover pans, filling two-thirds full. Place in the oven and bake for about 40 minutes or until fully risen and brown.
  5. Serve at once.

To Joyful, Simplified Living,

MS. Simplicity

MS. Simplicity, also known as Melissa Schmalenberger  operates her business as I Did it with MS. Simplicity.  She is a Professional Organizer based out of Fargo, ND and her website can be found at www.ididit-fargo.com .  Need to contact MS. Simplicity privately, you can email her at melissa@ididit-fargo.com.  For daily organizing tips find the MS. Simplicity fan page  here.

If you try any of my suggestions, I would love to hear from you.  It helps me to understand what my readers want me to write about and what they think is a waste of their time….thanks for taking the time to help me out.

2 Comments

Filed under Side Dishes, Sunday Suppers

2 responses to “Popovers

  1. Pingback: Family Meals | MS. Simplicity

  2. Pingback: Week in Review: March 12, 2011 | 365clevercookbooks

Leave a Reply

