Black Bean and Beef Tostadas

Day 86: “Betty Crocker’s Cook It Quick!”

March 27, 2011

Needing a fast meal that anyone in my family can cook with simple instructions is something that is important in our family. The tostada recipe was handed off to my husband to make while I drove a child around. Love the fact that I can leave and come home less than 30 minutes later and dinner is on the table. No magic here, just good planning on my part so I got out of cooking dinner!

Cookbooks that have quick in the title act like a magnet and I am attracted to them! Many quick recipes tend to lean on the not so healthy side and if they are healthy my fussy eaters want nothing to do with them! I quickly found something that everyone (almost everyone) would eat. Most of the recipes found within this cookbook are easy with common ingredients that you can find in your local grocery store. The cookbook is divided into many sections like “10 Quick Recipes You Can’t Live Without” or “Lighter Fare” and the section I found my recipe in, “Easy Pasta, Grains and Beans”.  You will find 100 quick recipes within the pages of this cookbook. I think Betty Crocker knows what she is talking about! There are even tips so that you can cook meals even faster. How about this one, “To save time, freeze cooked pasta, grains and cooked beans. Thaw and add to the recipes calling for cooked pasta, grains and beans.”  Love it!

The Ruling: Well almost everyone ate it. Youngest still thinks it is cruel to eat ground anything so he passed and melted cheese on his tostada shell instead. I did make him eat an apple and a peanut butter sandwich to balance it all out! What I loved about this is the black beans. I always forget to add them and I don’t keep them stocked in my house. I need to start buying more of them and remember to through them in more dishes. Middle child eats black beans so this is a great way to help him get some fiber in his otherwise fiber less diet.

Black Bean and Beef Tostadas, page 146

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 pound ground beef
  • 1 medium onion, chopped (1/2 cup)
  • 1 can (10 ounces) chopped tomatoes and green chilies, undrained
  • 1 can (15 ounces) black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 6 tostada shells
  • 1 cup shredded lettuce
  • 2/3 cup chopped tomato
  • 3/4 cup shredded Colby-Monterey Jack Cheese

Directions:

  1. Cook beef and onion in 10-inch skillet over medium-high heat, stirring occasionally, until beef is brown; drain.
  2. Stir in tomatoes. Heat to boiling; reduce heat to low. Simmer uncovered about 10 minutes or until liquid has evaporated. Stir in beans.
  3. Heat tostada shells as directed on package. Top tostada shells with bean mixture, lettuce, tomato and cheese.

To Joyful, Simplified Living,

MS. Simplicity

MS. Simplicity, also known as Melissa Schmalenberger  operates her business as I Did it with MS. Simplicity.  She is a Professional Organizer based out of Fargo, ND and her website can be found at www.ididit-fargo.com .  Need to contact MS. Simplicity privately, you can email her at melissa@ididit-fargo.com.  For daily organizing tips find the MS. Simplicity fan page  here.

If you try any of my suggestions, I would love to hear from you.  It helps me to understand what my readers want me to write about and what they think is a waste of their time….thanks for taking the time to help me out.

2 Comments

Filed under Fast Meals, Main Dishes

2 responses to “Black Bean and Beef Tostadas

  1. Pingback: Week in Review: March 26, 2011 | 365clevercookbooks

  2. Pingback: Family Meals For The Week | MS. Simplicity

Leave a Reply

