Pepperoni-Ravioli Supper

Day 88: “Pillsbury 30-Minute Meals

March 29, 2011

Another night where my husband had to make supper. This time I was too busy to even make it to the store, so my husband had to do the shopping. When I don’t plan ahead with the meal planning everything seems to flow better during the week. Meal planning comes easy to me, I even teach a class on “Meal Planning for busy families”.  So when life happens, and I don’t get the meal planning done it adds too much time to an already busy schedule. I end up going to the grocery store at what I call “The Witching Hour”, between 4:00 and 6:00 pm. That is the hour that you will find nice and pleasant parents and children in total melt down mode. I think the grocery store employees should receive hazard pay for having to work during this time frame! I am traveling next week so I have to do all of my planning and cooking for 7 days in less than 2 days. I also need to write the blogs before I leave as well. No sleep for me before I leave. But knowing that my family will be fed while I am gone is a good thing!

Pillsbury does such a nice job about creating good meals. Their focus on this cookbook is getting the meal on the table for the family in under 30 minutes. Each meal also has a companion menu along with it that give you ideas for sides dishes and dessert. The whole meal is easy and the sides are as well. With 230 family friendly recipes, chances are your family will like at least half of the ones contained within the pages of the cookbook. I love that there are tips throughout the book. How about making a garnish go a long way by having slices of roasted red pepper of cherry tomatoes on the plate. So simple yet another way to get a vegetable into our family. Sections of the cookbook are divided by meat type. If your family is a chicken lover, you will have over 50 pages of recipes to thrill them at dinner time.

The Ruling: Very simple to make but lacked a little spice. A sprinkle of red pepper flakes is the cure for our family when something is a little bland. Of course the youngest child didn’t eat it because of course he doesn’t like spaghetti sauce. Can you believe that a kid doesn’t like spaghetti sauce? Well guess what, one of mine doesn’t. I sure hope he begins to grow out of this. My 15-year-old was much fussier when he was my youngest’s age and he is now growing out of it. I am so ready for the less picky palate of the pre-teen to begin to evolve! I would even add in some vegetables that my family typically eats into the sauce like broccoli to give us some added vegetable. My guess is that the average family will like this, so give it a try!

Pepperoni-Ravioli Supper, page 82

Ingredients:

  • 2 (9-oz) pkg. refrigerated cheese-filled ravioli
  • 1 (28-oz) jar spaghetti sauce
  • 1 (4.5-oz) jar sliced mushrooms, drained
  • 1 (3.5-oz) pkg. pepperoni slices, halved (about 1 cup)
  • 4 oz. (1 cup) shredded mozzarella cheese

Directions:

  1. Cook ravioli to desired doneness as directed on package. Drain; cover to keep warm.
  2. Meanwhile, in large saucepan, combine spaghetti sauce, mushrooms and pepperoni; mix well. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; simmer 8 to 10 minutes or until sauce is slightly thickened, stirring occasionally.
  3. Carefully stir cooked ravioli into sauce mixture. Spoon onto serving platter. Sprinkle with cheese.

To Joyful, Simplified Living,

MS. Simplicity

MS. Simplicity, also known as Melissa Schmalenberger  operates her business as I Did it with MS. Simplicity.  She is a Professional Organizer based out of Fargo, ND and her website can be found at www.ididit-fargo.com .  Need to contact MS. Simplicity privately, you can email her at melissa@ididit-fargo.com.  For daily organizing tips find the MS. Simplicity fan page  here.

If you try any of my suggestions, I would love to hear from you.  It helps me to understand what my readers want me to write about and what they think is a waste of their time….thanks for taking the time to help me out.

2 Comments

Filed under Fast Meals, Main Dishes, Pasta

2 responses to “Pepperoni-Ravioli Supper

  1. Pingback: Week in Review: March 26, 2011 | 365clevercookbooks

  2. Pingback: Family Meals For The Week | MS. Simplicity

Leave a Reply

