Roasted Turkey Calzones

Day 91: “Better Homes and Gardens Make-Ahead Cooking”

April 1, 2011

Another weeknight another rush to make a meal that the whole family will eat! Why didn’t I plan more ahead this week? Lesson learned, I will make up for it today. I am gone for 5 days next week and I plan on making the meal plan and get the shopping done before I leave town. If I can’t get it done before hand, I will simply leave the list for my hubby to shop. I hope he doesn’t make my mistake of shopping during the witching hour. Calzones are one of those meals that can be put together quickly on those busy weeknights. I usually make mine with frozen pizza dough, which takes planning to give it time to thaw. This recipe calls for refrigerated pizza crust in the tube. So easy! Calzones can be filled with whatever your family likes. Vegetarians can easily adapt a calzone and pack it full of fresh veggies. Meat lovers can put slices of pepperoni, Canadian bacon or Italian sausage. And then even make a cheese one for fun.

Looking for one of those cookbooks that gives you some make-ahead recipes to fill your freezer for the upcoming days or weeks?  This cookbook has several sections that are divided by topic, included are; For Friends and Family, Make a Bonus Batch, Leftover Transformation and one of my favorites, Marinate Now, Grill Later. I think the Adobo Pork chops and the Zesty Curried Lime Chicken Kabobs sound yummy. This cookbook reminds me of the ones that my mom had bought in the 70’s. The pictures don’t seem to pop as much as I thought they could. This cookbook was printed in 2001, so maybe that is the reason. Plenty of good recipes that I think families would enjoy eating….and that is what is the important part.

The Ruling: Everyone loved them. Youngest said he wished there wasn’t any spinach in his and he picked around it. He did like them though. I left the spinach in them because I assumed he wouldn’t eat it because it had pizza sauce in it. I guess he likes pizza sauce, but doesn’t like spaghetti sauce?  What the heck! Aren’t they the same thing? I think I am going to start telling him that it is pizza sauce from now on. Middle son who hates vegetables, ate them….spinach and all! When planning for meals for this week, middle son even requested these again. The turkey that we used was deli turkey that was Italian flavored, it added a nice flavor to the sauce. These are meant to freeze and when ready to make thaw in the fridge the night before. The recipe calls for 375 degrees for about 18 minutes, I would suggest a lower baking time for less time.

Roasted Turkey Calzones, page 65

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound roasted or cooked turkey breast, chopped
  • 2 1/2 cups chopped fresh spinach
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded four-cheese pizza cheese
  • 1 14 oz or 15 oz jar pizza sauce
  • 2 10 ounce packages refrigerated pizza dough
  • Milk

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl combine turkey, spinach, pizza cheese, and 1/2 cup of the pizza sauce. On a lightly floured surface, roll each package of pizza dough out to a 12×12 inch square. Cut each square into four 6×6 inch squares.
  2. Spread about 2/3 cup of the turkey mixture onto half of each dough square to within about 1/2 inch of edge. Moisten edges of dough with water and fold over, forming triangles or rectangles. Pinch or press with a fork to seal edges. Prick tops of calzones with a fork; brush with milk and place on a greased large baking sheet.
  3. If desired, sprinkle tops of calzones with grated Parmesan or Romano cheese. Bake calzones in a 375 degree oven about 18 minutes or until golden (NOTE: please read my notes above about this). Heat half of the remaining pizza sauce and serve with half of the calzones immediately. If desired, pass grated Parmesan or Romano cheese.
  4. Transfer remaining calzones to an ungreased baking sheet. Cover loosely and freeze just until firm. Transfer to a self-sealing freezer bag or freezer container. Store calzones and remaining pizza sauce. Seal, label, and freeze up to 3 months. Transfer remaining pizza sauce to a freezer container. Seal, label, and freeze up to 3 months.
  5. Thaw frozen calzones and sauce in the refrigerator overnight. Unwrap calzones and place on a lightly greased large baking sheet. If desired, sprinkle with grated Parmesan or Romano cheese. Bake calzones, uncovered, in a 350 degree oven for 12 to 15 minutes or until heated through. Heat pizza sauce in a small saucepan. Serve with calzones.

To Joyful, Simplified Living,

MS. Simplicity

MS. Simplicity, also known as Melissa Schmalenberger  operates her business as I Did it with MS. Simplicity.  She is a Professional Organizer based out of Fargo, ND and her website can be found at www.ididit-fargo.com .  Need to contact MS. Simplicity privately, you can email her at melissa@ididit-fargo.com.  For daily organizing tips find the MS. Simplicity fan page  here.

If you try any of my suggestions, I would love to hear from you.  It helps me to understand what my readers want me to write about and what they think is a waste of their time….thanks for taking the time to help me out.

2 Comments

Filed under Fast Meals, Main Dishes

2 responses to “Roasted Turkey Calzones

  1. Pingback: Week in Review: March 26, 2011 | 365clevercookbooks

  2. Pingback: Family Meals For The Week | MS. Simplicity

Leave a Reply

