Butternut Squash Soup

Day 95: ” The Last-Minute Party Girl

April 5, 2011

The hardest thing about making butternut squash soup is the peeling and chopping of the actual butternut squash. If you can get past that part….the rest is easy. I had to ask for some strong hands to help me with the squash. I just know if I did it myself there would be a show of blood and a trip to the ER. Yes I have good health insurance but I save trips to the ER for when I get a papercut to my eyeball…..yes it hurt. Or when I broke my toe kicking a three hole paper punch that should not have been on the floor. I blame my work on being a lawyer on both of these accidents! Too bad I am self employed otherwise I would have had some workers comp to help with the pain….all right, embarrassment of it all. Try explaining to the intake nurse how you injured yourself. I am sure that they have my file tagged as “she is an idiot when it comes to crazy accidents, so don’t be surprised with what she walk in with”. I digress, if you can peel and chop the squash, then go for it. If not, don’t be afraid to ask for help…I did…and it saved me from a trip to the ER!.

Kind of a fun party handbook. If you like to throw a party and need a cute little party guide, this will be a fun read. Get some party hints plus a few great recipes in this cookbook. No pictures, but still a fun read.

The Ruling: I am a sucker for Butternut Squash soup. I have never had it with bacon and sour cream before, and I must say that it was very tasty. But isn’t bacon good on anything that you put it on? Our favorite comedian Jim Gaffigin has a whole set of jokes about bacon……”I wonder what would happen if you put bacon on bacon bits on bacon? Would there be a time/space continuum? Which is fine because I would go back in time to when I was eating bacon!” Two of my kids told me this line when I asked them for a bacon joke.  So the point being……add the bacon! I think everyone actually tasted it and didn’t gag! Success! Substitute vegetable broth for chicken broth, for a good vegetarian option….oh, and skip the bacon!

Butternut Squash Soup

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups finely chopped onion
  • 2 large cloves garlic, peeled and minced
  • 1 2-pound butternut squash
  • 2 slices bacon (optional for garnish)
  • 2 granny smith apples, peeled, cored, and chopped
  • 3 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • ¾ cup water
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 4 tablespoons sour cream or crème fraiche (optional)

Directions:

  1. In a large pot cook the butter, onion, and garlic over moderate heat, stirring occasionally, until the onion is translucent and soft, about 10 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, peel the butternut squash with a vegetable peeler, slice it lengthwise in half, scoop out the seeds in the middle, and chop the squash into 1-inch pieces.
  3. Also, if you’re opting for a bacon garnish (I recommend you do), cook the bacon now-either in the microwave, in a pan over medium-high heat, or under the broiler until it’s crispy but not burned.  Then cut it into small chunks.
  4. To the pot of softened onion add the squash, apples, broth, and water.  Partially cover the pot, and let it simmer for 25 minutes.
  5. Transfer the chunky soup in batches to a blender, making sure you include enough liquid from the pot with each batch to help the squash to puree.
  6. Puree the soup, and then pour it into a clean saucepan and heat it.  As the soup heats, season it with salt and pepper to taste.  If it’s too thick, add extra water.
  7. When you’re ready to serve, transfer the soup to bowls and garnish each with a dollop of sour cream or crème fraiche and bacon.

To Joyful, Simplified Living,

MS. Simplicity

MS. Simplicity, also known as Melissa Schmalenberger  operates her business as I Did it with MS. Simplicity.  She is a Professional Organizer based out of Fargo, ND and her website can be found at www.ididit-fargo.com .  Need to contact MS. Simplicity privately, you can email her at melissa@ididit-fargo.com.  For daily organizing tips find the MS. Simplicity fan page  here.

If you try any of my suggestions, I would love to hear from you.  It helps me to understand what my readers want me to write about and what they think is a waste of their time….thanks for taking the time to help me out.

4 Comments

Filed under Soup, Vegetarian

4 responses to “Butternut Squash Soup

  1. That looks amazing and I just love your header photo too.

  2. Pingback: Week In Review: April 2, 2011 | 365clevercookbooks

  3. Pingback: Family Meals | MS. Simplicity

Leave a Reply

