Tartiflette Toastie

Day 102: “River Cottage Every Day

April 12, 2011

What kind of sign is a recipe if I can not even pronounce it? Not a clue what it is either, I just know that the picture in the cookbook looked good. The cookbook tells me that it is inspired by the “Savoyarde dish tartiflette, a rich baked combination of potatoes, cheese, and bacon”.  Well that would be great if I knew what Savoyarde is. Oh well, I am easily distracted by a good picture, and this one looked yummy.

The author of the cookbook, Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall, is the father of three so he knows what is like to have to make meals for families. I wonder if his kids are as fussy as mine? He has a recipe for homemade Muesli that I am drying to try…..I wish I would have seen that one earlier and I would have made it for breakfast. I think the beet and walnut hummus sounds great as well! The author is well-known in the world of sustainably produced food, something we should all take some time to learn more about. With this cookbook you will find comfort between the pages without a sense of high calories, nevermind that I picked the recipe that had bacon, cheese and cream. Everything in moderation right? I like how the sections of the cookbook are divided up. One of my favorite sections is called “Weekday lunch (box)” or the section called “Treats” is calling to me as well.

The Ruling: Well I liked it. I forgot my family doesn’t like Brie. Oops, sometimes it isn’t about them! I think that if I would have used a different cheese, it would have gone over better. The recipe does say to use any semisoft or semihard cheese, so maybe next time I will try it with a sharp cheddar or a goat, cheese that is!

Tartiflette Toastie, page 114

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon canola or olive oil
  • 2 bacon slices, or a slice of cold ham, cut into small strips
  • 1 cold cooked potato (baked, boiled, or even roasted), thickly sliced
  • 1 to 2 tablespoons heavy cream or creme fraiche
  • Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 large, thick slice bread
  • 3 to 4 thick slices (about 1 ounce) semisoft or semihard cheese
  • a few crisp, bitter salad greens, such as chicory, radicchio, or frisee, to serve

Directions:

  1. Heat the oil in a small frying pan over medium heat. If you are using bacon, add it to the pan and fry for a few minutes, until cooked. Add the potato and fry until it is heated through and starting to color a little. If you’re using ham, add it now and stir until well heated through.
  2. Stir in the cream or creme fraiche and allow it to bubble and reduce for a couple of minutes. Remove from the heat and season to taste.
  3. Toast the bread, pile the mixture on top, then cover with the sliced cheese and put under a hot broiler. As soon as the cheese is melted and bubbling, whip out from under the broiler and transfer to a plate. Serve at once, with a few crisp, bitter salad greens on the side.

To Joyful, Simplified Living,

MS. Simplicity

MS. Simplicity, also known as Melissa Schmalenberger  operates her business as I Did it with MS. Simplicity.  She is a Professional Organizer based out of Fargo, ND and her website can be found at www.ididit-fargo.com .  Need to contact MS. Simplicity privately, you can email her at melissa@ididit-fargo.com.  For daily organizing tips find the MS. Simplicity fan page  here.

If you try any of my suggestions, I would love to hear from you.  It helps me to understand what my readers want me to write about and what they think is a waste of their time….thanks for taking the time to help me out.

1 Comment

Filed under Fast Meals

One response to “Tartiflette Toastie

  1. Pingback: Week in Review: April 9, 2011 | 365clevercookbooks

Leave a Reply

