Penne Alla Papalina

 

Day 114: Moto Gusto

April 24, 2011

Pasta with peas is one of my husbands favorite meals. I can’t stand peas….it is a school food bad memory sort of thing. Canned peas make my stomach turn! My mom made lots and lots of frozen peas. So between school and my mom, I have had my lifetime of peas. But the thing is, I love the man I married so every once in awhile I do something out of love for him. This meal was for him….it was so much for him I even had him make it. I wasn’t going to taste it, but he made me taste it, just like I make the kids. Turn around is fair play I suppose.

Who doesn’t love Mario Batali? I love him for the crocs that he wore before crocs were in style…..and for wearing crocs for when they are no longer in style. I have come to be schooled in the fact that they are called bistro crocs . I have eaten at Mario’s restaurant in Vegas….I think I had pizza. He has many pizza recipes in this cookbook along with the expected pasta and some surprising vegetable dishes. Beautiful pictures are all over the cookbook….and you know me and pictures!

The Ruling: My oldest said he “didn’t mind it, it was good” but not full of flavor. The problem I think was that we only had half of the prosciutto. It was an easy dish to prepare and if you love peas….you will love this dish!

Penne alla Papalina, page 179

Ingredients:

  • Kosher Salt
  • 6 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 8 ounces sliced prosciutto, cut into 1-inch squares
  • one 10-oz package (2 cups) frozen peas, thawed
  • 1 pound penne rigate
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 cup freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano, plus extra for serving
  • Coarsely ground black pepper

Directions:

  1. Bring 6 quarts of water to a boil in a large pot and add 3 tablespoons kosher salt.
  2. Meanwhile, combine 3 tablespoons of the oil and the prosciutto in another large pot and cook over medium-high heat, stirring occasionally, until the prosciutto has rendered some of its fat and is golden brown, about 5 minutes. Remove from the heat and stir in the peas.
  3. Drop the pasta into the boiling water and cook until just al dente. Drain, reserving about 1/2 cup fo the pasta water.
  4. WHisk the eggs together in a medium bowl to break them up, then whisk in the remaining 3 tablespoons oil and 1/4 cup of the reserved pasta water.
  5. Add the pasta to the prosciutto and peas and stir and toss over medium heat to mix well. Add the egg mixture, remove from the heat, and stir and toss vigorously to slightly cook the eggs (add a splash or two more of the reserved pasta water if necessary to loosen the sauce). Stir in the Parmigano, season with pepper, and serve immediately, with additional grated cheese on the side.

 

To Joyful, Simplified Living,

MS. Simplicity

MS. Simplicity, also known as Melissa Schmalenberger  operates her business as I Did it with MS. Simplicity.  She is a Professional Organizer based out of Fargo, ND and her website can be found at www.ididit-fargo.com .  Need to contact MS. Simplicity privately, you can email her at melissa@ididit-fargo.com.  For daily organizing tips find the MS. Simplicity fan page  here.

If you try any of my suggestions, I would love to hear from you.  It helps me to understand what my readers want me to write about and what they think is a waste of their time….thanks for taking the time to help me out.

1 Comment

Filed under Main Dishes, Pasta

One response to “Penne Alla Papalina

  1. Pingback: Week In Review: April 23, 2011 | 365clevercookbooks

Leave a Reply

