Green Olive and Arichoke Tapenade

Day 129: Moosewood Restaurant New Classics

May 9, 2011

You know that I am always on the look out for a new appetizer. I am of the belief that appetizers should be listed as a food group. Appetizers are fun foods to eat, usually small in size and big on flavor. The thing to remember is that appetizers do not need to be coated in cheese to make them good. You can find appetizers that do not have any dairy products in them. When I find an appetizer that is without dairy I want to cheer it from the roof tops. Then add in something that has tons of flavor, I have a home run!

The Moosewood cookbook does just that. The creators of the Moosewood brand is based in New York. They have found a combination of vegetarian food with flavor. I enjoy the variety of their dishes and most of the items I am able to find in our local grocery store. Eating vegetarian does not mean just eating tofu. You can get full off of many other interesting everyday items. This cookbook should be a staple in the vegetarian kitchen but also in the average home cooks. What we would consider side dishes like Two Carrot salad, or Chilean Artichokes would make most meat eaters drool. When I turn vegetarian, this will be my go-to cookbook!

The Ruling: We liked it….well those of us who like green olives. I like the fact that it was made with green olives instead of black, which is the norm with tapenades. My hubby even liked it enough to pack in his lunch the next day. We just served with some pita chips and called it good. I think it would taste great on top of chicken or fish as well. Because I have a food processor, it took me minutes to prepare!

Green Olive and Artichoke Tapenade, page 209

Ingredients:

  • 5 artichoke hearts (14 ounce can, drained)
  • 1 cup toasted walnuts, chopped
  • 1 cup pitted green or Spanish olives
  • 1 garlic clove, pressed or minced
  • 2 to 3 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
  • 1 teaspoon freshly grated lemon peel (optional)
  • 3 to 4 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • cracked or ground black pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. In the bowl of a food processor, whirl the artichoke hearts, walnuts, olives, garlic, parsley, and lemon peel, if using, for a few seconds until everything is uniformly minced. Scrape down the sides if necessary, add the lemon juice and live oil, and process for a few more seconds until the mixture forms a rough paste (not a smooth puree but a cohesive paste). Season with pepper to taste.
  2. Tapenade is best served at room temperature and can be stored, covered and refrigerated, for up to a week.

To Joyful, Simplified Living,

MS. Simplicity

MS. Simplicity, also known as Melissa Schmalenberger  operates her business as I Did it with MS. Simplicity.  She is a Professional Organizer based out of Fargo, ND and her website can be found at www.ididit-fargo.com .  Need to contact MS. Simplicity privately, you can email her at melissa@ididit-fargo.com.  For daily organizing tips find the MS. Simplicity fan page  here.

If you try any of my suggestions, I would love to hear from you.  It helps me to understand what my readers want me to write about and what they think is a waste of their time….thanks for taking the time to help me out.

1 Comment

Filed under Appetizers, Fast Meals, Vegetarian

One response to “Green Olive and Arichoke Tapenade

  1. Pingback: Week In Review: May 7, 2011 | 365clevercookbooks

Leave a Reply

