Thai-Spiced Loin Chops

Day 74: “The Culinary Institute of America’s Gourmet Meals in Minutes

March 15, 2011

So continues my week of quick and fast meals.  Who wants to stand in a kitchen cooking in the evenings? Give me something that takes little prep time so that I can do more important things, like talk to my family.  The other option that I am thinking for are meals that can be quickly put together and get on the table quickly once everyone walks in the door at night.  My quest of those perfect combinations is never-ending once you put in the added level of difficulty of 2 fussy eaters.  But I am not daunted by this task and I continue!

I love cookbooks by the Culinary Institute of America!  I find them to be well photographed and full of information. Not just information about the recipe, but they try to teach you some great cooking skills as well. Like tips on quick cooking methods for meats. Or how about baking fish inside a parchment paper shaped as a heart called en papillote. I promise anyone could make this, but where to find the cleriac is the only thing that stumps me about that particular recipe.  You will not be disappointed in the wide array of selections and the lovely photos contained in this cookbook.

The Ruling: Everyone ate it!  Very few ingredients and we simply used our lovely George Foreman grill to give it a quick cooking.  I do like to use thin pork chops because the cooking time is shorter and I am always guaranteed a cooked pork chop. It took me a while to find the hot-sweet mustard in the grocery store….but it was right where it should be…with the mustards.  We even had the Thai red curry paste from a recipe that I prepared with noodles. So if you buy the Thai red curry paste, make both of these recipes to use up the bottle.

Thai-Spiced Loin Chops, page 161

Ingredients:

  • 3 pounds boneless center-cut pork loin chops, 1/2 inch thick, trimmed of fat
  • 1 teaspoon salt, or to taste
  • 1 teaspoon ground black pepper, or to taste
  • 2 tablespoons Thai red curry paste
  • Cilantro sprigs, as needed
  • 1/2 cup hot-sweet mustard, prepared

Directions:

  1. Lightly oil the grill and preheat to high heat. Season the pork chops with salt and pepper. SPread 1/4 teaspoon of the curry paste on each side of each chop.
  2. Place the pork chops on the hot grill. Cook, turning once, until pork is done, about 3-3 1/2 minutes per side.
  3. Garnish the pork chops with cilantro sprigs. Serve with the hot-sweet mustard.

To Joyful, Simplified Living,

MS. Simplicity

MS. Simplicity, also known as Melissa Schmalenberger  operates her business as I Did it with MS. Simplicity.  She is a Professional Organizer based out of Fargo, ND and her website can be found at www.ididit-fargo.com .  Need to contact MS. Simplicity privately, you can email her at melissa@ididit-fargo.com.  For daily organizing tips find the MS. Simplicity fan page  here.

If you try any of my suggestions, I would love to hear from you.  It helps me to understand what my readers want me to write about and what they think is a waste of their time….thanks for taking the time to help me out.

2 Comments

Filed under Fast Meals, Main Dishes

2 responses to “Thai-Spiced Loin Chops

  1. Pingback: Family Meals | MS. Simplicity

  2. Pingback: Week in Review: March 12, 2011 | 365clevercookbooks

Leave a comment